5/100

It’s nothing sinister, it’s just an avocado.

It just seemed to go with the wood grain on the board so I stopped before painting further. The photograph was a moment when I just marvelled one day at an avocado cut in half – rich buttery flesh, glorious stone and the leathery skin – just a perfect package.

I can’t re-photograph this as it found its way onto a art market stall and was bought by a person for her avocado-loving husband. I hope he liked it. Funny how things can find the right person. I enjoy watching the stories of objects grow and change.

I’m also interested in how long it survives, on a painterly level, as it was made by applying light washes directly onto the wood (it was sold very reasonably just in case!). But I think it would survive a good few years, at least. It’s a very practical and professional consideration when you make a painting that you think someone will want one day – and something which is a concern when you mix and experiment with media – how long will it last?  And when you buy a painting can you reasonably expect it to last a lifetime – if not, how long?

Opinions/advice from archival experts (and everyone else!) much appreciated…

Leave a comment